Technology is fucked up

Technology has been separating us from ourselves since long before Donatella Versace had her first face lift. Instead of communicating face to face, person to person, etc. we are now constantly communicating from whatever device to whatever device and it is totally fucking up the way people perceive the world and treat others. I’m having a really spiritual moment right now.

But seriously. A few weeks ago, I woke up one morning and was like ‘you know what? Fuck Facebook.’ So I deactivated my account. And the number of people who were legit upset about my decision to remove myself from the Facebook community made me wonder why someone can’t/wouldn’t be able to live an amazing life without a Facebook profile. Isn’t your FB profile supposed to be a reflection of your actual life?

Look, I get that social networking is a beautiful thing, but you know what’s not? Having a bunch of disgusting cyber-stalkers and people from your high school that you used to hate looking at your beach/drunk photos. Yeah yeah, I know you can block people and limit who can see shit on your profile and whatevs. But the fact that you have to watch your Facebook ass as well as your REAL ass in life just seems like way too much effort for me.

I also realize that I’m communicating to all of you using another form of technology called the ‘internet’, which I’m not totally opposed to but is still contributing to people becoming lazy, self-obsessed and generally dumber. We need to use technology wisely and not abuse it, meaning we need to take very long breaks from it and actually participate in our own lives. Like, for instance, it’s a nice day out. We should all be closing up our laptops, leaving the office and going outside to smoke a joint with our friends. Or talking and laughing or whatever.  Just saying.

So, if you really don’t care about Facebook and aren’t emotionally attached to it/brainwashed, delete it. Then, I will personally invite all of the people who have deleted Facebook over to my place for a super-chic, exclusive no-meat BBQ/cocktail party and we can laugh about how real life is SO much better than looking at people’s Photo-shopped pics of them ‘having fun’ in ‘cool places’ on Facebook.

But if I ever create a new FB profile, don’t forget to add me as a friend! Yay

L

2 thoughts on “Technology is fucked up

  1. LAURA BABY. I fucking miss you and this just made my day. And yes, I still keep up with your posts because they are hilarious. Hope all is well ❤

Leave a Reply

