Why Am I Doing This.

Dear insane people reading this post,

This is exactly what Kim told me not to do. Create a blog. Everyone has a fucking blog. People’s pets have blogs. The worst part of all though, is that everyone seems to think their blog is so unique, funny and clever, but the reality is that most people are just a bunch of fucking idiots. That being said, I am definitely pretty crazy and have been known to act like a total fucking idiot. And I’m fairly comfortable with that. I’m not trying to use this blog to showcase anything in particular.

“Most fashion bloggers are horrible writers”, says Kim. “They have no credibility.”

And she would know because she teaches a course about trend blogging at Parsons in NYC. Kim is my fashion writing advisor. She had her own monthly column in Vogue Taiwan, and has worked for many powerful companies in the fashion world such as Calvin Klein and Emilio Pucci. This bitch knows what she’s talking about. The first time I ever met her, she scared me. Now I’ve finally gotten to a point where I feel like I can talk to her and only pee my pants a little bit.

As for her students, some of them haven’t even mastered how to use basic grammatical skills, let alone technical fashion writing. They’re fucking amateurs.

So this brings me to the point of this post. Why the fuck am I doing this. Well, I don’t think I’m wonderfully funny or anything like that. It is in part because I’m currently writing a book, and would like to promote it because my colleagues and I have been working our asses off to put it together. (Our book is NOTHING like this blog, meaning that it is actually going to be a well-researched, nicely written piece of artwork on artisanal food and fashion in the city of Florence, whereas this blog is…not.) I want this to be more of a lifestyle blog with semi-useful information about food, fashion and entertainment. The book we’re writing is a separate entity, and this blog is more just about me. And unicorns. And drinking.

I’m sure it will be interesting/entertaining though. At the very least. Plus I need an emotional outlet and my journal just hasn’t been cutting it lately. Anyway, I’m more or less writing it to entertain myself in the end, but if you feel like reading it, I’m happy to enrich your life at the same time.

Thanks for wasting your time reading this! Namaste.

Laura

Leave a Reply

